Indie Publishing – Is it For You?

I’ve been fortunate to have published across a diverse spectrum – fiction, non-fiction, travel, business, food, education, relationships. Until this year, my writing has been published the traditional way (editor, publishing house), but this year I opted to try out self-publishing.

And it’s been a blast.

I started by publishing one of my out-of-print books (my publishing house, like so many, has gone under), a piece of non-fiction on conspiracy theories. There was comfort in knowing the material was solid, especially as I navigated the uncharted channels of self-publishing. I’d considered self-publishing years ago, when indie publishing online was in its infancy, but was put off by all the layers legwork.

There are a lot of hoops to jump through in indie publishing. Viewed at once, it can be overwhelming, but broken down into single tasks the job becomes do-able. Get an EIN, an ISBN, a CIP. Decide on a single source aggregate distributor (simpler, but lower royalties), handle distribution yourself, or some hybrid of the two. Social networking platforms. Goodreads, Books In Print. Beta readers, cover artists, editing.

Have you toyed with the idea of self-publishing? I’m not gonna lie. It’s a lot of work. It’s also a lot of fun. If you like control of your projects and love to learn, indie publishing might be for you.

This set of blog posts will be a breakdown of the steps you’ll need to take to get from I’ve-Written-A-Book to I’ve-Published-A-Book. I’m Canadian, so my experiences will have that flavo(u)r, but many of the steps will be common to anyone looking to publish. Example: In Canada, ISBN numbers are free; in the U.S., ISBN numbers must be purchased. Where possible, I’ll include country specific information.

Welcome to my world of indie publishing and I hope I can make your journey to publication less complicated than mine was.

4 thoughts on “Indie Publishing – Is it For You?

  1. Cannot wait! I’ve been curious about the steps involve (yet lazy enough not to Google them). Now I have a resident expert. Win!

  2. I’m looking forward to this series of posts. Great idea Dee. Thanks.

    • I’ve had a few people ask about the process, so it seemed like a good idea. While some of the steps you only need to do once, several of them have to be repeated for each new book. So it’s a handy reminder for me, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

