Blog Hopping: Lori Power and Marlow Kelly

I remember writing in a more isolated time, when contact with other writers was sporadic and confined to letters, phone calls and face-to-face meetings. Rarely a day goes by now when I don’t chat  – through e-mail or Skype or blog exchanges – with a fellow writer. Relationships that begin as professional associations often blossom into friendships between people with common understandings and struggles. In so many respects, this is a wonderful point in history to be a writer.

Anyway, today I’m filling my blogspace with two writers I’m privileged to count as friends as well colleagues. Marlow Kelly writes historical romances with strong, independent women (link to A Woman of Honour to be added when the book becomes available). Lori Power writes across a broad spectrum of romance, with a recently released contemporary romance currently available by clicking the cover link below.

Click Marlow Kelly and Lori Power to follow their blogs.

 Lori Power

Storms of PassionAs an author, I am always envisioning new stories. I will drive somewhere, see a client or listen to the radio and something will spark my imagination. It’s an ah-ha moment where I think, ‘wow, I can use that.’ Then the process starts where I picture that moment with a particular style of character and I’m off on an adventurous quest.

At the moment I am finishing a Young Adult love story entitled Chrysalis. What makes this different than my first novel, Storms of Passion, which was a romance, is Chrysalis is a love story. To my mind a love story is an in-depth look at characters who have gone beyond the initial spark of attraction, the situations of romancing the person you want to bed, to the point where the they are willing to work to build a relationship, overcome adversity and grow together.

I write what I want to read. If I wouldn’t read it, I won’t write it. I love a good adventure and I believe my work differs from others based on the life experiences I inject into stories. Not only can I envision the moments, see the sights and smells, but because I’ve been there, I write what I know, where I’ve been and how I and others have reacted to the situation.

As a business owner of a national company, I have been able to travel from one coast to the other, experience how people live, work and prosper in the various, often remote areas of this significantly diverse country. As a mother and wife, I understand the fear and protective nature associated with those roles and I am lucky enough to be married to a ‘considerate lover’ who tries very hard to be a redneck, though at the heart of the matter, he is the one who taught me how to be romantic and face adversity as a team member.

Marlow Kelly

A Woman of HonourWhat am I working on?

I’m working on a novel which is a sequel to my soon to be published novella, “A Woman of Honour.” The hero is Isabel’s brother, John, who meets my heroine, Ellie, when a monastery is attacked and destroyed. Together with John’s young nephew, Liam, they escape. When John discovers that travelling entertainer, Ellie, has seen the man responsible for the attack he tricks her into journeying deeper into the Highlands, further away from her adopted children.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work differs from others because my characters are either not physically perfect or they have a damaged vision of themselves. Isabel, my heroine in a “Woman of Honour” is tall. I picture her to be a least 6ft tall and very slim. She’s taller than most men, and considers herself unattractive. Duncan, my hero, finds her to be beautiful, but it doesn’t change the fact that she’s tall and thin it’s just that she is perfect for him. I want to write about strong women because I believe we are inherently capable and have proven this time and again through history.

Why do I write what I do?

I wish I could say that I write because of some lofty goal, but truthfully, I write because I have to, it’s a compulsion. The characters force their way into my head and won’t leave me alone until I write down their stories. I know it’s odd, but I never claimed to be sane.

How does your writing process work?

As I said the characters talk to me and then it’s just a matter of getting the words on the page. I turn off the spelling and grammar function and just let the words flow. I don’t sensor anything. Everything can be edited and changed later, but getting the story down is vital. I’m always learning and working. My colleagues in ARWA are always coming up with new creative ideas and writing techniques that help me grow. Exercise, also, plays a big role in my creative process. I do my best planning and creating when I’m walking, so when I get stuck I hit the treadmill.

2 thoughts on “Blog Hopping: Lori Power and Marlow Kelly

  1. Great interviews!

Leave a Reply

